home Sports Who will Win Indian Premier League 5 – Part 2

Who will Win Indian Premier League 5 – Part 2

Part 1 of this article

What a way to start the IPL 5. Defending champions routed. Costly CSK purchase flopped. Bollywood dances etc. IPL 5 has begun and the chase starts to the prized trophy and entry into Champions Challenge.

mumbai-indiansOwned by India’s richest industrialist Mukesh Ambani, Mumbai Indians (MI) has the crickets biggest name in dressing room. Little Master ‘Sachin Tendulkar‘ is part of the MI squad.  Tendulkar though voluntarily opted out of Indian National T20 squad, has been the integral part of MI squad. Despite Injuries he has been a big influence. This season he handed over his captaincy to Harbajan Singh. A move which has raised eyebrows but justified given that he can focus on his batting and mentoring the young players.

  • Harbhajan Singh(Captain who has supported by little master. Chance to prove. Last season he proved his abilities. Bowling form is a concern)
  • Richard Levi (Hero of the first game and definitely bright prospects for MI and South African team)
  • Abu Nechim
  • Amitoze Singh
  • Aiden Blizzard     (Australian batsman is an explosive batsman at the top of the innings)
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • James Franklin    (New Zealand Cricket who joined MI in 4th season of IPL. Played well in the Champions League)
  • Herschelle Gibbs     (New to MI team but experienced player. Previous season was part of  Deccan Chargers. Combined with Aiden they are  dynamic on the field and good purchase by MI management. )
  • Davy Jacobs
  • Mitchell Johnson    (the Australian cricketer is a left-arm fast bowler and left-handed batsman
  • Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper batsman, has been in good form in IPL)
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Dhawal Kulkarni
  • Richard Levi
  • Clint McKay
  • Lasith Malinga     (Batsmen are surely wary of him. Great bowler who brings great experience)
  • Sushant Marathe
  • Sujit Nayak
  • Pragyan Ojha
  • Munaf Patel
  • Thisara Perera
  • Robin Peterson
  • Kieron Pollard ( Explosive performance in IPL helped him in increasing his price in IPL and also making it back to West Indies team)
  • Ambati Rayudu   (played a pivotal role in Mumbai reaching the finals in 2010. Has been one of the good run getters for MI team)
  • Jaydev Shah
  • Rohit Sharma   (most exciting player who has delivered in IPL whenever needed)
  • Rahul Shukla
  • RP Singh
  • Tirumalasetti Suman
  • Pawan Suyal
  • Aditya Tare
  • Sachin Tendulkar     (Any team will feel great to have his presence in team)
  • Apoorv Wankhade
  • Suryakumar Yadav

Harbhajan, who led Mumbai to the Champions League T20 title last year, was the automatic choice to take over the leadership mantle from tendulkar.  Can MI deliver in this season needed to be see. But for sure they have the ammunition has shown in today’s opening match and definitely one of the strongest contender for grabbing IPL 5.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders have been a team who have been struggling to come up to mark in previous IPL outings but last season they performer better. Sharukh Khan sponsored team, is relying on Gautam Ghambir captaincy to revive the franchise and deliver some good blows to opponents.

KKR management gamble to drop Kolkata lad ‘Sourav Ganguly’ created  uproars among kolkata fans. But the performance of KKR team in last season silenced the fans as their team. KKR finished amongst the top teams after the completion of the mid season game-play. The final match against Mumbai Indians played at Eden Garden witnessed, for the first time, an overcapacity with over 80.000 tickets sold.

  • Gautam Gambhir (His captaincy bought around the turn which Sharukh was looking for. 2012 season he will be watched)
  • Sarabjit Ladda
  • Lakshmipathy Balaji
  • Rajat Bhatia
  • Manvinder Bisla
  • Debabrata Das
  • Marchant de Lange (a South African cricketer is a tail-end right-handed batsman and a right-arm fast bowler. bought for $50,000)
  • Brad Haddin
  • Iqbal Abdulla
  • Chirag Jani
  • Jacques Kallis     (south african all rounder has been in good form with the bat. In recent T20 against india his performance was too good with bat)
  • Brett Lee
  • Brendon McCullum (the New Zealand international cricketer was bought  for $900,000   by KKR management in 2012)
  • Eoin Morgan
  • Sunil Narine    (the young West Indian cricketer was bought for $700,000. had good outing against indian team during India-West Indies one-day series in 2011. Was also in demand during auction process)
  • Yusuf Pathan  (a big hitter, who will be watched on how he performs)
  • James Pattinson
  • Sanju Samson
  • Pradeep Sangwan
  • Iresh Saxena
  • Shami Ahmed
  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Laxmi Shukla
  • Ryan ten Doeschate
  • Manoj Tiwary
  • Jaydev Unadkat

Kolkata Knight Riders  was led by Sourav Ganguly in IPL 1 and IPL 3 and Brendon McCullum in IPL 2. Gautam Gambhir has been captaining the team since 2011 and the owner seems to have lot of hopes on him. Having finished previous edition on 4th place, this time KKR will try it to make to champions league and definitely move close to the title fight


The winner of the initial IPL edition team has change in guards. The wall of Indian Cricket team ‘Rahul Dravid’ is leading the team. With a stronger batting line up, Rajasthan Royals will have to perform consistently. Last season they  started strongly and were in contention for a place in the playoffs before fading towards the end.

  • Rahul Dravid (Having retired from International Cricket, he is stepping in Shane Warne Shoes.
  • Stuart Binny (Karnataka’s batsmen played well in the Ranji Trophy last season. If he can get this Ranji performance in IPL, then definitely it will be worth watching)
  • Johan Botha (his form with the bat was crucial to the Royals’ early success. The team will need more of the same from him to compete this year).
  • Deepak Chahar
  • Dinesh Chandimal (Sri Lanka batsmen has been in good form and has been bought by royals for $50,000.He is a wicketkeeper who can bat )
  • Ankeet Chavan
  • Aakash Chopra
  • Paul Collingwood (The all rounder Englishmen will be a good choice)
  • Kevon Cooper
  • Aditya Dole
  • Samad Fallah
  • Faiz Fazal
  • Shreevats Goswami
  • Brad Hodge (Performed well in the Big Bash and the Bangladesh Premier League)
  • Ashok Menaria
  • Sumit Narwal
  • Pankaj Singh
  • Amit Paunikar
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Abhishek Raut
  • Owais Shah
  • Pinal Shah
  • Amit Singh
  • Sreesanth(Former kochi player, will have to control his temperament and deliver the goodies if RR team management gives him a chance to play)
  • Shaun Tait
  • Siddharth Trivedi
  • Shane Watson (The Australia allrounder will arrive at the end of April    but has been consistent with the bat)
  • Dishant Yagnik

In Recent past Rajasthan Royals has been in news for the change in hands of Owners. But for all of us it is players who deliver. It will be interesting to watch Rahul Dravid play and see if RR can change their fortunes on the points table.

Part 1 of this article


0 thoughts on “Who will Win Indian Premier League 5 – Part 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *